Who We Are, What We Do

Our mission and leadership

Our Mission

The New Jersey Climate Change Resource Center was established by statute in January 2020 to “create and support the use of impartial and actionable science to advance government, public, private, and nongovernmental sector efforts to adapt to, and mitigate, a changing climate.” To that end, our mission is to:

CommunicationsConduct research with real-world applications to New Jersey’s most pressing climate-related challenges;

Tools icon Create planning tools, develop technical guidance, undertake pilot projects, and provide practical support for addressing climate change in New Jersey;

CommunicationsConnect actionable research to policymakers, planners, practitioners, the media, communities, students, and other individuals through outreach, training, and education.


The Climate Change Resource Center is overseen by co-directors Jeanne Herb and Marjorie Kaplan, with faculty advisers Clinton J. Andrews, Anthony Broccoli, Robert Kopp, and Robin Leichenko.


Jeanne Herb
Executive Director, Environmental Analysis and Communications Group
Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
Phone: 848-932-2725

Marjorie Kaplan
Associate Director, Rutgers Climate Institute
Phone: 848-932-5739

Scientific Team

James Shope
Research Associate
Department of Environmental Sciences

Sean Thatcher
GIS Specialist

Faculty Advisers

Clinton J. Andrews
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
Director, Rutgers Center for Green Building
Anthony Broccoli
Co-Director, Rutgers Climate Institute
Professor, Department of Environmental Sciences
Robert Kopp
Professor, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences
Director, Institute of Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Science
Robin Leichenko
Co-Director, Rutgers Climate Institute
Professor, Department of Geography


This website draws upon the work of organizations and individuals across Rutgers University and its partners throughout New Jersey and beyond, including: